Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

On Saturday, in the cool late September morning, I picked up my first two pie pumpkins of autumn at the farmers’ market.  I took them home to puree and make various warming and spicy fall dishes.  After a brutal summer of drought and heat waves, the evenings are finally cooler and the days are perfect for an afternoon walk, so I made a hearty pumpkin soup.

There was only one problem.  I live in the South and it’s still in the 80s and quite humid.  In fact, I got sunburned on Sunday, while at an outdoor music festival.  I actually made the pumpkin soup, because I am so ready for fall.  I want the cooler days and evenings, where I need a jacket just in the morning.  I want to be able to go on a run and not be sweating before I get started.  I checked my calendar and yeah, it’s officially fall, so in hopes of it cooling down some I made pumpkin soup and I’m making pumpkin muffins soon as well.  Because even if the weather doesn’t say its fall, my calendar does and I’m ready for it.

Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

adapted from Smitten Kitchen 
 
2 15.5-oz cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 14.5-oz can diced tomatoes
1 large onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon and 2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
4 tablespoons olive oil
4 1/2 cups vegetable stock
1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree (or 1 16-oz can of pumpkin puree)
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
 

In the bowl of a food processor, puree half of the drained and rinsed black beans with the chopped tomatoes.  In a large stock pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the onions to the oil and saute until translucent.  Add the garlic, cumin, salt and pepper to the pot and saute another minute.  Add the pureed black bean and tomato mixture, the rest of the black beans (whole) and pumpkin puree.  Stir the mixture together.  Pour in the stock and bring the soup to a boil.  Once boiling, lower the heat to medium-low and simmer the soup for 25 to 30 minutes, until the soup thickens.  Pour in the apple cider vinegar and combine.  Serve warm topped with salted pumpkin seeds (fresh are best) and a dollop of plain yogurt (or sour cream).

Leave a Reply

