White Bean Burgers

I’m sorry it’s been so long.  The truth is I haven’t cooked much lately.  It’s been a little crazy around here (I’m currently writing this on the bus to my 8 a.m. class) lately and my usual weekend meal planning and grocery shopping didn’t happen.  This means that every weeknight is a scramble to throw something together for dinner.

This is why every Saturday I head to the farmers’ market and then to grocery store to get stuff for 5-7 meals for the upcoming week.  Usually I start thinking of meals on Monday.  By start, I mean I pick the vegetables in my CSA (community supported agriculture) box. Then I promptly forget about it until Thursday or Friday, when I check my email to remember what I requested.  Next I’m off to my favorite food blogs and cookbooks to try and find 5 (or more) meals that I can use for my vegetables.  When I’ve exhausted my resources (usually 2-3 meals come out of this), I look to old favorites or simple variations (pizza and pasta are easy fillers here).  Then Saturday morning over breakfast and before I head to the farmers’ market, I do the final brainstorm session for meals with my husband.  Finally the list is made and we’re off.

Obviously it doesn’t always work this way.  If I’m gone for the weekend, it doesn’t happen and I end up with a week like this one with me wondering if I can have cereal for dinner again (my thought, “Of course;” my husband, “No, that isn’t dinner”).  So to help you plan your meals for the week (and for me to remember good meal ideas), here is another healthy and yummy recipe.  Good luck with your planning; I’m off to biostatistics.

White Bean Burgers

2 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 an onion, finely chopped
2 clove garlic, minced
1 large carrot, grated
1 can (15 oz) of white bean burgers, drained and rinsed
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
the zest and juice of one lemon
1/4 cup parsley, minced
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/2 cup oatmeal
1 egg
 

Heat a skillet, and heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the onions and cook 4-5 minutes (while you grate the carrot and mince the garlic), until it is translucent and starting to brown.  Add the carrot and garlic.  Saute for another 2-3 minutes.  Add the white beans, salt, pepper and thyme.  Cook until the white beans become tender, 3-5 minutes.  Add the beans into the bowl of a food processor along with the parsley, lemon zest, lemon juice and egg.  Pulse a few times until it is well combined.  Move the mixture into a bowl and fold in the bread crumbs and oatmeal.  Place the mixture into the refrigerator for 10-20 minutes, depending on how much time you have.

Heat a grill pan over medium high heat.  Divide and form the mixture into four patties.  Cook the patties on the grill for 4-5 minutes on each side.  Serve on a bun with a simple lemon-yogurt sauce and tomatoes (or whatever else you prefer).

Leave a Reply

