Lime Yogurt Cake

Recently, I’ve developed a desire for dessert.  No, not the desire where all I want is dessert for dinner.  The desire to have dessert as part of my meal.  You might be thinking, “Wait, isn’t that normal?”   It might be, but previously I usually only craved dessert as a sweet.  This presents a problem, because I try to eat fairly healthy food.  Therefore I try and find desserts that aren’t as bad for me.  Usually it’s something with fruit, though sometimes my sweet tooth gets the better of me.  I’m not saying all my desserts are healthy and butter-free, because they aren’t.  But I try my best to balance the truly unhealthy with the healthier.

Because I usually have plain yogurt and citrus fruit in my kitchen, this yogurt cake is a common dessert in my home.  Also it is really simple to make, moist and on the healthier side of the balance.  Also with the citrus glaze it provides the perfect tartness to end a meal.

Lime Yogurt Cake

adapted from Smitten Kitchen 
 
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup plain yogurt
1 cup sugar, plus 1 tablespoon (divided)
2 large eggs
2 limes, zested and segmented*
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup water
 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a loaf pan.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.  In another medium bowl whisk together the yogurt, 1 cup sugar, eggs, lime zest, vanilla, and vegetable oil.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and slowly stir until it just combines.  Do not over-mix.    Pour the mixture into the loaf pan and bake for 60 minutes, or until a knife stuck into the center comes out clean.

While the cake is baking, segment the lime into a small pot to collect the segment and the excess juice (see Grapefruit Scones for details on segmenting).  Add 1/4 cup of water and 1 tablespoon water to the segments and juice.  Whisk together and place over medium-low heat.  Bring to a gentle boil then reduce the heat.  Simmer the sauce for 10-15 minutes, until it thickens into a glaze.  Remove from heat and let it cool.

When the cake is cooked through, cool it in the pan for 10-15 minutes then turn it out onto a cool rack and allow to cool another 10-15 minutes (or longer).  Slice the cake and pour or spread the lime glaze onto each serve when serving.

Store the glaze and cake separately.  The glaze it not necessary, but adds a sophisticated element to the cake.  You could also serve the cake a fresh berries.

*The lime can be swapped for a lemon or a grapefruit.  All three are delicious.

Leave a Reply

