Blonde Brownies

I wanted dessert after dinner one weeknight, but my butter was cold and we were out of fruit.  I searched my cookbooks for a recipe with ingredients I had.  Lucky for me these yummy brownies required melted butter instead of room-temperature butter.  Also they were the perfect vehicle for the last bit of my Hershey’s Kisses.

Yes, the 25-lb. bag of Hershey’s Kisses had been depleted.  Why, you might ask, did I have 25-lb. of Hershey’s Kisses?  That is a valid question.  For my wedding favors I gave out little cellophane bags of Hershey’s Kisses and I had about 7-8 lbs left over.  There are only so many times you can eat a plain Kiss, so many of them have been chopped up and added to sweets (chocolate banana pancakes, chocolate cupcakes, chocolate glaze, etc.).  These yummy brownies are the last of the lovely cast of desserts.  They are also the only recipe I posted, because though the other treats were good, these were particular winners (though the chocolate banana pancakes would have been posted had I remembered to take pictures).

So it is with a feeling of triumph (finally using all the Kisses) and sadness (no more Kisses to remind me of the wedding) that I present these scrumptious blonde brownies for you to try.

Blonde Brownies

adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian (page 844)

8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter, plus a little for greasing the pan
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup chocolate chips or chunks
1/2 walnut, chopped
 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8 x 8 inch baking pan.  Melt the butter over low heat.  Transfer it to a bowl and use an electric mixer to beat the sugar until very smooth*, then beat in the egg and vanilla, scraping down the sides of the bowl every now and then if necessary.

Add the salt, then gently stir in the flour.  Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until just barely set in the middle.  Cool on a rack before cutting.

*Mine didn’t turn out that smoothly, but the brownies still come out great.

Leave a Reply

