Grapefruit Scones

When I moved to the South I fell in love with biscuits.  They are so tasty.  At first I would buy them from restaurants.  Then I wanted them at home with me, sitting next to my eggs in the morning, so I got them in the frozen section of the grocery store.  Then I decided I wanted them to be all mine, so I found a cheddar biscuit recipe, a paprika biscuit recipe and of course scone recipes, which are really just biscuits with a sophisticated name.  I realized with these recipes that biscuits, things I used to think far out of my culinary range and meant to be made from Bisquick, are actually fairly easy to make.  Also they are so much better at home, because you get to decide what to put in them.  I usually opt for yogurt in mine instead of cream or milk.  It’s healthier, slightly.  They are biscuits.

I have always adored grapefruit.  I love grapefruit juice, grapefruit segments, and of course grapefruit candy.  Grapefruit candies are my favorite gummy.  When I was younger I would get them from the candy store at the mall, eat too many, and of course get a stomachache.  Then I’d repeat the process, but I love the sour and sweet gummies.

Grapefruit scones then are a natural combination to me.  Okay, maybe not natural, but these are seriously good.  The reason is the grapefruit sugar you create with the zest.  It creates a gorgeous sweet and sour top coating.  I will be honest though, when I found this recipe, I didn’t have grapefruit, but I had everything else and I had blood oranges.  I therefore made Blood Orange Scones, which turned out so good that they were gone shortly after they came out of the oven.  But I longed for the sour grapefruit element in them.  So I got a grapefruit and made them as the recipe intended.  I’ve made them many times now, and last night I made them at 9:30 pm because I really wanted them and now they are almost gone and I wish I had another grapefruit.

So go make these; don’t worry what time it is, you will be happy you did.  If you don’t have grapefruit on hand, make them with oranges.  Then go to the store and buy a grapefruit and take them into work.  You will be praised.

Grapefruit Scones

from Joy the Baker 
 
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar, divided
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, diced
1 Ruby Red Grapefruit (or 2 blood oranges), zested and segmented
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1 tablespoon milk
 

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  In a large bowl whisk together flour, salt and baking powder.  Set aside.  Zest the grapefruit.  Combine the zest with the grapefruit by pressing the sugar into the zest with the back of your knife or a spoon.  Measure out 2 tablespoons and whisk it into the flour.  Set the rest aside for topping the scones later.

Segment the grapefruit.  Start by cutting off the top and bottom of the grapefruit, so that you can see the pink fruit.  Then cut away the side by cutting between the white pith and the pink fruit.  Finally, cut in between membranes of each segment.  This may take a little bit of time (5-10 minutes), but it’s worth it.  Set aside.

Dice the cold butter and blend it into the flour mixture like you would for a pie dough.  Add the segments, yogurt and honey to the flour and stir together.  When most of the flour is incorporated, pour the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and gently knead the dough together.  Add a little more flour if the dough is too sticky, though it should be slightly sticky.  Flatten the dough into a rectangle and cut it in half and then into thirds.  Cut each little rectangle diagonally to create little triangle scones.  You can alternatively form it into a circle and cut it like a pizza, but I think this makes them too large.  I like the little triangles, because then I can eat more.

Place each triangle onto a baking sheet and brush them with the milk.  Sprinkle the reserved grapefruit sugar on top of each scone.  Place them in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown.  Remove from oven and serve warm or room temperature.  They store well for a few day in the refrigerator (if they last that long), but are best fresh from the oven.

2 thoughts on “Grapefruit Scones

  1. Pingback: Lime Yogurt Cake « Eating Plants: A Quasi-Vegetarian's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Roasted Red Pepper and Basil Scones « Eating Plants: A Quasi-Vegetarian's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

