Yogurt Waffles with Strawberries

“…and in the morning, I’m making waffles.”  In the original Shrek, Donkey says this to Shrek in his excitement over a sleepover, as a treat for his guest.  That line has always stuck with me, because waffles are delectable and truly a wonderful treat.  I’ve been making waffles for years.  My mother makes them with Bisquick and a Tigger waffle iron.  I brought my first waffle iron my freshmen year in college and attempted to make waffles in my dorm room.  It worked though it wasn’t the smartest thing I’ve done. I then fried that waffle iron after using it in my one-bedroom apartment with apparent electrical issues.  I then went without a waffle iron for a few years until my best friend, after hearing me complain about not having one, got me a waffle iron for my birthday.

Now I just need to find a batter I like that does take too long to make, because in the morning I just want to eat and enjoy my Turkish tea, not cook forever.  I think this one works.  The batter only take a few minutes to whip together, but the fluffed egg whites add an airy chewiness to the golden browned waffles.  Then you top it with strawberries that have been tossed in a little maple syrup to enhance their juices and form a scrumptious syrup to top your lovely waffles.  Enjoy.

Yogurt Waffles with Strawberries

adapted from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman

1/2 12 oz container of strawberries, cut up
1 tablespoon of sugar
2 teaspoons maple syrup
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 1/2 plain yogurt
1/4 cup milk
2 eggs, separated
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter, melted and cooled
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
neutral oil for brushing waffle iron (vegetable oil)

Turn waffle iron on to highest setting.  Cut up strawberries and place in bowl.  Sprinkle sugar and drizzle the maple syrup over the strawberries.  Toss the strawberries to coat and set aside.*

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.  In another bowl, whisk together the yogurt, milk, sugar, butter, and vanilla.  Separate the egg whites from the egg yolks and whisk the yolks into the yogurt mixture.  Pour the yogurt mixture (wet) into the flour mixture (dry) and stir together.  By hand or with an electric mixture beat egg whites until they hold stiff peaks.** Gently, with a rubber spatula or wooden spoon, fold in the egg whites.***

Pour 1/2-3/4 cup of the batter over the hot waffle iron, just enough to cover your grid.  Cook the waffle until the “ready” light comes on, about 2 minutes, and the waffle is golden brown.

Toss the strawberry mixture again and then scoop on top of the warm waffle.  Drizzle waffle with a little more maple syrup and enjoy.  You can freeze any leftover waffles for another morning (or evening).

*You want to do this first so that the strawberries release their juices creating a syrup with the sugar and maple syrup.

**I didn’t want to clean my beaters, so I did it by hand and found it was much easier than I thought.  It still made my arm hurt some, but it really wasn’t that bad.

***If you do it too quickly the egg white will deflate and the batter will lose the fluff.

Leave a Reply

