Welcome

Hello all and welcome to my site.  My husband, friends and family have been bugging me to start a food blog so here it is.  I am a quasi-vegetarian (my version), meaning I am a vegetarian who eats meat from local and sustainable farms.  I pick up a community supported agriculture box every week from our farmers’ market and usually get my meats there too.  I have started many new adventures this year (marriage, grad school, new job, quasi-vegetarianism) and I hope that having this blog will keep me trying new things in the kitchen while juggling my other obligations.

Occasionally on the way to the farmers’ market to pick up our vegetable box we stop into Bruegger’s for breakfast.  I get a coffee and a cinnamon sugar bagel with honey walnut cream cheese.  Why?  Because I love anything with cinnamon sugar and because the subtle sweetness with the earthy, soft crunch of the walnuts in the cream cheese is a perfect morning treat.  Last weekend I wanted to get my honey walnut cream cheese fix, but we just didn’t have time.  I then made the realization I that could easily make my own and it would be better because I could add as many walnuts as I wanted and have it whenever I wanted.  I don’t know why I haven’t thought to try it before.  So in case you haven’t thought to try it before, here is what I did.

Honey-Walnut Cream Cheese

(inspired by Bruegger’s honey-walnut cream cheese)

1 8-oz. package plain cream cheese (I use low-fat)
2-3 teaspoons honey (depending on how sweet you like things)
1/4 to 1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
 
This is incredibly easy.  Put the cream cheese, honey, and roughly chopped walnuts in a bowl.  Use a spoon and fold everything together.  Slather onto a toasted bagel, cinnamon sugar if you have one but any kind will do, enjoy and revel in the fact that you didn’t have to go to Bruegger’s for it.

* If you aren’t inpatient like me, you can first toast the walnuts in a small skillet over medium heat for 4-5 minutes or until they are lightly toasted and then either roughly chop them or break them up in your hand.  I didn’t feel like dirtying a cutting board, knife and skillet.

You can do this as well for vegetable cheese cream (1 tablespoon each of minced chives, carrot, celery, bell pepper, radishes) or any cream cheese you might like such as rosemary and olive oil.

Leave a Reply

